The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 09-28-2010, 10:07 PM

Default Need Help Selecting a Mic

Hey all,

I am a newbie to recording. I recently am doing some work with a friend of mine (singer) and I am going to start recording some acoustic guitar tracks for her.

I might use some other acoustic instruments for other tracks (mandolin). What microphone works best.

So far, the only option I have is a cable that plugs into my acoustic guitar (it's an acoustic/electric) and a USB on the other end, so I can record directly into my cpu, by passing the terrible built in mic on my lap top. However, I cannot benefit from this when I record my mandolin, so I am looking for a decent, yet cheap mic to record with. Given my tight budget, and the fact that I need just a modest improvement in comparison to my laptop mic, here is what I am looking at:

Blue microphone The Yeti ($150)
I like the fact that it is plug and play. I have seen some videos on youtube and the quality is about on par with what I am looking for.

Shure SM57 ($100)
The workhorse. It seems like no matter what, you cannot go wrong with this mic. Even years down the road, if I end up getting better equipment, it seems that people always find ways to still use this.

EV Cobalt Co4 Instrument Mic ($70 for two microphones)
I like the fact that there are two of them (so I can record in stereo and also experiment with microphone placements). It sounds like it is pretty good for acoustic instruments.

MXL 4000 FET Studio Condenser Mic + MXL 603S Condenser Mic ($200)
I heard great things about the MXL 4000, but don't know how well it will work recording acoustic instruments, and how well it will work in conjuction with the extra MXL 603S mic.

Is there a clear winner here? If I had to rank them, I think I would go:

1) Cobalt (cheapest, there are two, better than laptop mic)