The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 12-06-2011, 12:42 AM

Default LR Baggs Para Acoustic DI

Hi all,

Here's my story - please bear with me as I'm a newb:

Just got a K&K Mini installed into my new Martin OM-28V. Plugged it into my Vox AC15C1 (just to see if the PUP works) and it sounds great.

A couple of days later I bought a LR Baggs Para Acoustic DI as a pre-amp so I could have some sort of onstage control. I tested the DI with my Vox amp (again, just to see if it works) and no sound (guitar--> input of ParaDI --> 1/4" output of ParaDI--> vox amp). I took it back to Long & Mcquade (where I bought it from) and the guy said that it should work, tried it on one of his acoustic amps and still didn't work.

We assumed it was a dud. He got me a new ParaDI and we tested it on the acoustic amp. It worked, albeit we had to turn up the acoustic amp WAY up for it to get a loud enough volume. Good enough I thought, so I exchanged it. Now I'm trying it on my Vox again and there were faint sounds - kind of cutting in and out. Again, you must turn up volume all the way up. At least it was an improvement (some sort of sound)... but still, not what I was expecting.

Now, I'm not 100% too worried because the ParaDI will mainly be used for church use when I go through the mixer then through the main house (i.e. not going through any kind of amp). I haven't tried it yet, but will get to in about a week.

My question is: should the DI box be working on my amps (even though I'm using electric amp)? I don't understand why it wouldnt? My local K&K dealer has the exact same setup (K&K mini into paraAcoustic DI into small acoustic amp) with no problems at all???
Old 12-06-2011, 05:21 AM

Location: Don't mess with Texas. Now it is somewhere in cold Germany.

Edit: Just noticed this was your first post! Welcome to AFG!

Quote:
Originally Posted by leejo View Post
Hi all,