The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 07-17-2011, 01:05 PM

Default titanium machine heads?

I was talking to my luthier earlier today, and we were discussing weight. He mentioned he wished he could get titanium tuners. Does anyone know if anyone is making titanium tuners?
Old 07-17-2011, 02:33 PM

Hi John. It's hard to get much lighter than Schertler's. The open style with an aluminum plate and ebony knobs really keeps the weight down. http://www.stewmac.com/shop/Tuners/G...ad_Guitar.html

They are very smooth too.

I think the weight listed on the site includes packaging. I could weigh a set if you like.

The ones on Burton's post look pretty light too but I have no experience with them. http://www.acousticguitarforum.com/f...d.php?t=222031
Old 07-17-2011, 02:40 PM

Thanks Kent,

Ray uses the Alessi tuners, deffinately wanted to stay with that style tuner. Was are the tuners you mentioned open back like that?
Old 07-17-2011, 03:54 PM

Yes, open back. Link to pictures is above.
Old 07-17-2011, 03:56 PM

Aluminum is lighter than titanium.
Old 07-17-2011, 04:04 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brackett Instruments View Post
Aluminum is lighter than titanium.
yes, but aluminum is soft, and fatigues. Titanium would be a better fit.
Old 07-17-2011, 06:18 PM

The Gotoh stealth tuners are the lightest I have found by a factor of about 3 but they do not look like anything else out there. The Schertler's are over a tuners worth heavier than a set of Waverlies even though they are made of aluminum. Weights would be (for all 6 tuners):

167g Schertler (ebony knobs, weight from from Stewmac website)
133g Waverly (ebony knobs, weight from from Stewmac website)
57g Gotoh Stealth tuners with ivory buttons (weight taken by me)

I don't have any experience with the Alessi tuners but they certainly are beautiful.
Old 07-18-2011, 08:23 AM

Default Pegheds