The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 07-26-2018, 12:50 AM

Default Best Classical guitar under $1000? Alhambra, Cordoba Camps etc.

Hi.

I'm a devoted beginner guitarist looking for a good classical guitar with good quality built and sound
My budget is $1000

There are many brands such as Cordoba, Yamaha, Alhambra etc . and there are many online reviews.
But nothing beats going to a store and trying them out.

Of course i'm looking to get as much quality as possible for under $1000 in terms of sound, wood etc

I went to sone guitar shops and tried out a few and so far i think:

Alhambra 4P

- Pros:
Price: 523,00 €
Wood: solid Red Western Cedar top

Alhambra Iberia Ziricote
(New model)
- Pros
I like the sound it produces more than the Alhambra 4P even thought it's cheaper in price than the 4P
Price: 499,00 €
Wood: Top is Solid cedar

I wonder how Alhambra compares to Cordoba in terms of the quality you get per buck? So far i've looked at:

[h]Cordoba GK Studio (a smaller flamenco body which is nice and still sounds close to a classical guitar sound which is what i want) [/h]

Cordoba C7 CD
Unfortunately Alhambra and Cordoba were in 2 separate shops so i couldn't compare them.

These guitars sound amazing on youtube.
Paco Castillo 204
Camps M-6 S

Do any of you experienced guitarists have some comments, other recommendations or experience with the listed guitars? Which gives the most for the price in terms of build quality and sound`? I will be fingerpicking a bit and i have big hands.
Your help would be much appreciated.
Old 07-26-2018, 05:35 AM

I love my Alhambra 10P which is parlor size (I have the opposite problem, I have small hands) but the guitar is great-sounding and (IMHO) quality built.
Old 07-26-2018, 09:50 AM

I am a huge fan of Camps guitars. Also their necks are well known in Spain for being very playable.