The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 03-12-2017, 06:43 AM

Default Newbie Quest - Would a Mixer help?

Hey all - So I have been recording for a couple months now. I mostly record 'Live' in my home for personal use .. Me playing acoustic and singing simultaneously .. Here is something I did this weekend.

https://soundcloud.com/midnight_ride...acoustic-cover

My Gear:
Acoustic Guitar with built-in Pickup
2 Rode M5 Small Condesner Mics
1 AKG D5 Dynamic Mic
1 MXL990 Large Diaphram Condenser
Behringer 2 input USB Interface
TC Helicon Harmony G-xt
Reaper Recording software

I utilize a TC Helicon Harmony G-xt ... So my technique is to run guitar and vocal mic into the Harmony (reverb and harmony) ... Then I route that into the USB interface ( input 1). Plus lately I have been plugging 1 Rode M5 into the 2nd input on the USB.

My questions.... (1) What is the best way to set up inputs ... Mono or Stereo? What I mean is...(REMEMBER I'm a newbie)... How do I set up the inputs on both USB and Reaper.... Because the interface has a mono/stereo button and Reaper has choice of Mono or stereo for each input.. (Im confused on this).

Also (2) I just found a deal ($60) for a used Yamaha Yamaha MG82CX Mixer...Would it be better to "route" everything through this and then .. just go into 1 input on USB interface? / Any Suggestions would be great!

Old 03-12-2017, 07:19 AM

The mono/stereo button on your Behringer unit is for monitoring with headphones. It has no effect on the inputs. Each input in one mono signal.

In Reaper you set up each track with whatever inputs from the behringer you want.

For what you're doing there is no point in using stereo tracks. Just set up one mono track assigned to input 1 and another mono track assigned to input 2.

You don't need the mixer for any of that.

You could use the mixer to record things a little differently though.