The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 11-19-2019, 06:00 AM

Default Kid’s guitar learning book. Recommendations?

I gave my 12 yo grandson one of my acoustic guitars and he is very much into it but a total beginner, as you might have guessed. Can anyone recommend a good kid-friendly guitar book? Something to give him a good foundation in the basics?
Old 11-19-2019, 07:40 AM

If he's 12, I wouldn't bother too much about a kids book. Based on my 11 year old niece, they're trying really hard to be grown ups so I'd use any starter book you'd think would be good for an adult.
Old 11-19-2019, 09:53 AM

I personally like some of the Alfred books (the Authentic Guitar Tab editions) but I'm not familiar with the kids stuff. That said, they do have a series of books for kids and you can look at previews online (with sound clips) to decide if you think the kid is too mature for these.

https://www.alfred.com/search/produc...-guitar-course

If not, I'd go with the suggestion above and give him a basic adult learning book that YOU enjoyed and found valuable. The added value of that is you're familiar with the book and teaching method so you're the first place he'll likely turn for answers.
Old 11-19-2019, 12:38 PM

I have recommended this to a few people. David Mead writes well, understands that not everyone needs to read the dots, and explains things very clearly. Great for a beginner-and there's a CD included:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Minute-Acou...s=books&sr=1-3
Old 11-19-2019, 02:12 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewG View Post
I have recommended this to a few people. David Mead writes well, understands that not everyone needs to read the dots, and explains things very clearly. Great for a beginner-and there's a CD included:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Minute-Acou...s=books&sr=1-3
That one looks interesting...for adults too it seems.