The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 05-20-2019, 03:48 PM

Default Gigging Musicians: Dealing with different crowds??

OK, so I am relatively new to solo acoustic gigging and have only played about 6 or 7 different venues and have found that some places have very responsive crowds that will request songs, sing and clap along and applaud at the end of every song...and.....there is the complete opposite, where everyone is just sitting quietly eating or drinking and after a song is over....nothing. Sometime you wonder if they even know you are there. I find it very fun and rewarding to play in the first situation and very depressing and boring to play in the latter.
Is this just part of the deal? Some places you are just "background music" and other places you are more of a focal point? How do you deal with these "background music" types of places? Not saying I want wild cheering and everyone singing along on top of their lungs, but a little polite applause now and then is nice.
Old 05-20-2019, 04:33 PM

That's pretty much the way it goes for gigging in pubs and restaurants. It can get worse, not everyone will quietly ignore you if you don't happen to play music that they like.

Welcome to the art of reading an audience.
Old 05-20-2019, 04:48 PM

Even worse is the restaurant or bar who think of musicians as a necessary evil. Never a positive word for fear you might ask for something. I played one place regularly where the new staff would be complementary and nice but only for a short while... Then they got the memo.

Best to have a good mailing list and friends you can count on at your gigs.
IR Demo, read the description too: https://youtu.be/SELEE4yugjE
My duo's website and my email... [email protected]

Jon Fields
Old 05-20-2019, 04:51 PM
Charter Member