The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 05-17-2019, 05:36 PM

Default buying used too risky?

Buying a used guitar seems like such a risk, but if I were To go that route, what might me some good, solid wood options with a $1k budget.

For the past 4 weeks, I’ve been spending 1-2 lunch hours per week playing different guitars at my local music store. I do copious amounts of research, then go in and try a few I read about and compare. With my said budget in a new guitar, I’ve narrowed my taste down to some of the DX1AE Martin & DRS1, 1110e Taylor, Guild D150 (this one surprised me), Yamaha TA’s. I LOVE the looks of the Martin D15M streetmaster, but haven’t played it yet (a couple hundred over my budget)

However, I have a mental thing over laminate bodies and plastic bridges. I’m by no means a professional player, but I want to replace my 10 year old Tak G340 with something that will last a lifetime.

Any ideas of what I might be looking for in a used guitar? Or is it too risky? Specifically looking for a dread without cutaway, all wood. I like the wider nut, but not a deal breaker if a 1 11/16
Old 05-17-2019, 05:44 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikePrent View Post
Buying a used guitar seems like such a risk, but if I were To go that route, what might me some good, solid wood options with a $1k budget.

For the past 4 weeks, I’ve been spending 1-2 lunch hours per week playing different guitars at my local music store. I do copious amounts of research, then go in and try a few I read about and compare. With my said budget in a new guitar, I’ve narrowed my taste down to some of the DX1AE Martin & DRS1, 1110e Taylor, Guild D150 (this one surprised me), Yamaha TA’s. I LOVE the looks of the Martin D15M streetmaster, but haven’t played it yet (a couple hundred over my budget)