The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 04-07-2020, 12:20 PM

Default Nut size advice for a beginner, should I change?

Hoping to get some advice because I’m a newbie.

I’m through the early lessons at JustinGuitar and I can get the chords so far, and make them ring out perfectly, but it takes some work in my chord perfect exercises. Particularly 3rd finger in D.

I have a guitar that I really enjoy (Taylor Koa 224ce DLX). Of course I can’t play it well but I like how it feels in my hands, it’s balance and body, and I love the look of it, and to my untrained ear I like how it sounds.

The nut size is 1 11/16 and every time I struggle to get the chords to ring true I can’t help but wonder if my large hand (not sausage fingers, but certainly a mens L size hand) would be better with a 1 3/4 nut size.

But before going off and buying a new guitar I figured I would be smart to ask here on this very helpful and knowledgeable forum.

Thank you
Old 04-07-2020, 12:24 PM

That very well might help but nut width is only one part of the equation. You also want to check out string spacing at the saddle. Some 1 3/4 nut width have 2 1/4 string spacing, some 2 3/16 and some 2 5/16. I find that matters even more than the nut width.

Personally, I will never buy a guitar with a nut width with 11/16 nut width but that's a personal preference and there are many who love it.
Old 04-07-2020, 12:32 PM
Get off my lawn kid

It will make a difference, but some of your issues may be just a matter of more time with a guitar.

You should get another guitar with the 1.75" nut , but keep the Taylor you have now if you can. After you have been playing longer you'll be able to adapt to the narrower nut.

Some people are more sensitive to nut widths than others. It really depends on the individual.

My SoundCloud page