The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Old 06-20-2018, 03:51 PM

Default Why is there not more sugar free and low calorie foods?

I am not what anyone would call fat but I have been dieting for several months and have lost almost 20 pounds.
This morning at 5'7" I weighed 151 lbs.
I am mostly losing weight to see if it really helps with joint arthritis.
It can just be crazy to read food labels and see calorie amounts.
Most sugar free products taste just fine to me.
And I do not believe that diet soda is worse for a person, come on, Coke Zero = no calories.
But just try buying other foods with zero or minimal calories.
Can only eat so much raw veggies and rice cakes.
Old 06-20-2018, 04:35 PM

Congratulations! That is amazing news and so hard to do.

To answer the question there are very few products that suit your needs. Erythrorbitol is an alcohol sugar which is sweet and is being used in ice creams now. That and aspartame (in diet Coke) can make your life sweeter.

Here in Canada there are many low sugar lines appearing. Perhaps you need to change where you shop. We have low sugar ice cream, candies, cookies, cakes.

There are so few products because producers are still making food products for young people and do not realize that as we age, our tolerances for junk change.

However, many low sugar products affect our gut ecosystem so I would say eat regular sweets, but ALOT less.

GL!@
Old 06-20-2018, 04:40 PM

Default Why is there not more sugar free and low calorie foods?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riverwolf View Post
I am not what anyone would call fat but I have been dieting for several months and have lost almost 20 pounds.

And I do not believe that diet soda is worse for a person, come on, Coke Zero = no calories.

Check the carbs too. Carbs turn to sugar. Rice is bad stuff.
Old 06-20-2018, 04:59 PM