The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 11-02-2010, 06:52 AM

Default What planer?

I'm an above average guitar tech, but I'm just delving into building. I'm interested in buying a portable planer, but wanted to get some advice here first. I know the 12-13" planers work well for electrics, but what about acoustics?

Any thoughts? I need to spend less than $500.

Thanks!
Old 11-02-2010, 08:49 AM

You don't need a planer. A drum sander, or wide belt sander are better suited for thin acoustic woods. A Jet/Performax 10/20 is just above your price range. You may be able to find one used.
Old 11-02-2010, 11:53 AM
Formerly Yamaha Junkie

The one above the 10/20 is $200 off right now I read. I'm not sure if the sale carries through all the models.
I want the huge Grizzly Tim McKnight has! Till then my 10/20 is fantastic.
Old 11-04-2010, 12:46 AM

I have a delta drum sander I picked up on craigslist for $400 dollars barley used they are a bit cheaper new that the performax. I think its a solid machine that has since changed my life. Planer definitely wont do the trick. Some guys build their own drum sanders as well might be allot cheaper Google building a drum sander.
Old 11-06-2010, 09:33 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by woody b View Post
You don't need a planer. A drum sander, or wide belt sander are better suited for thin acoustic woods. A Jet/Performax 10/20 is just above your price range. You may be able to find one used.
You guys that have that 10" sander...are you able to flip the wood and run wider than 10" pieces in two passes? Does that work well?
Old 11-08-2010, 11:00 PM