The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 05-17-2022, 06:40 PM

Default Saddle shims

Having read a recent thread about saddle shims and their effect on tone has posed a question for me.

Many respondents thought shims were not a detriment to tone, in fact, Bob Colosi sells shim kits.

My question is, why don’t manufacturers ship guitars with the action set to the lower end, and provide shims for those who prefer higher action?

Other than cost to the manufacturer, which in turn would up the price to the consumer, what is the down side?

What am I missing here?
Old 05-17-2022, 06:46 PM

I'm no expert, but Shims seem like a quick fix solution, that I personally am 100% fine with, but a new proper cut saddle is probably the proper solution.
Old 05-17-2022, 06:59 PM

It is a good idea. I bought an Ovation that came with factory shims.
I use them to change saddle height when needed due to weather changes.
Old 05-17-2022, 07:19 PM

They ship with high action so they don’t buzz when being played in guitar stores, or when new out of the box. Not much they can do about humidity and temperature variances. I think it wouldnt be bad to ship em with a decent shim already under the saddle.
Old 05-18-2022, 06:49 AM
Charter Member

I consider a saddle shim to be an acceptable temporary solution, but not an ideal long term solution. Saddles are pretty cheap and easy to replace.

In general guitars ship with higher action so they don't buzz, and because it's easier to adjust action down. A good shop would check over all higher end guitar upon receipt and acclimatization and adjust as necessary, unfortunately few seem to actually do that.