The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 04-24-2022, 08:10 AM

Default Tips on learning how to read music

You know I've been playing guitar and electric bass for more than 50 years. I've played in local bands, at jams, in several churches and for non-profit events. I know chord theory pretty OK and scales and basic stuff.

But I've never really learned how to read music. Recently I had a chance to play electric bass in a local community band but the band leader needed somebody who could spot-read music ... which I admitted I couldn't.

Now as a retiree I have the time and the drive. So any tips on how to learn how to properly read music, both treble and bass clefs? Do local instructors offer that? Can you recommend any video programs or other aids? I see lots of things online ... some free, some apparently aimed at children with little animated animals and the like. That's OK as long as I learn something.

Thanks for any help you can give this guy.
Alvarez AD710
Alvarez RD20S
Esteban American Legacy
Rogue mandolin
Old 04-24-2022, 08:37 AM

For reading treble clef I recommend a book, or several books, of folk tunes. They are nearly all in simple keys, mostly sharp keys, G, D and the relative minors, Em and Bm and also Am. Funnily enough the relative major to Am, C, is not used all that much in traditional folk tunes.

The reason for having lots of tunes to read is that if you only have one or two tunes you will quickly start to play from memory and not actually exercise your reading skills.

The trick is to read through a tune once only and move on to the next.

There is a book called O'Neils or something similar that has 1000 or more tunes.

You can find tunes online if you prefer to work from a screen.

Here's one to start with.

https://archive.org/details/session-tunes/mode/2up
Old 04-24-2022, 08:51 AM