The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 09-29-2013, 04:39 PM

Default I need a 'magic decoder ring' for the fretboard...HELP!

Hi, and HELP! I'm pretty new to guitar. I bought my first guitar about 2 years ago and tried to teach myself. Gave that up after 6 months and got myself a teacher. That lasted about 6 months. His method was to teach chords and sing. I was clear: no singing! I want to learn fingerstyle. So I was on my own again for another 6 months, then found another teacher. One who is helping me learn techniques along with fingerstyle. No singing!

I've already learned hammer-ons, pull-offs, slides, vibrato, string bending, etc. (not saying I'm good at 'em yet, but I'm trying!) I know the basic chords, and I love playing arpeggios. So, for example, just 'picking apart' a simple chord progression, chord by chord, note by note, is beautiful to my newbie ears.

BUT... I want to improvise, and my teacher encourages it. However I have not been able to figure out how to know what notes to play that go well with what I'm already playing. It seems that I just "hunt and pick" until I find a note that kinda sounds ok. But there must be a better way!

All of you who are skilled players know automatically where to go on the fretboard to improvise. What's the secret? I thought it would help to learn the notes on the fretboard (still working on that), or perhaps scales. But that's not it. Just because I know where to find a C on the fretboard doesn't mean that I know it will sound nice with what I'm playing.

Any tips? Is it just one of those things that comes with time? Or is there truly a 'magic decoder ring' that I need to get to help it all make sense.

Oh, and I play lefty, so all of the books and diagrams out there that show things on the fretboard are not entirely helpful for me, because they are backwards to my world (just to make it even MORE challenging!).