The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 09-04-2009, 09:03 AM

Default Where Were you At After 1 Year?

I'm coming up on a year of playing and was wondering how my progress stacked up against others. I know it's not a competition or anything, it's just something I'm curious about. So far, I know quite a few chords and have several fingerstyle pieces under my fingers. There are some I can play well and more that I'm trying to put the polish on. So where were you at this point?
Old 09-04-2009, 09:21 AM

You've made good progress. I started playing when I was 12, so my progress was different due to my age, interests, and the quality of my guitar at the time. My point is, progress depends on many, many factors, so comparisons from one player to another are impossible and impractical.

ReverbNation (originals)

SoundCloud (the Hobo Troubadour)
Old 09-04-2009, 10:50 AM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fingerstylist View Post
...So where were you at this point?
Hi FS...
I was jumping into the middle of any opportunity to use the guitar, and playing things just a bit beyond my ability...I knew how to moderate back even then so I didn't embarrass myself when playing in public.

And I was in a duo right away, because two of us could play more than just one of us...

You description of you progress leads me believe you compare pretty favorably with the ''intuits'', ahead of the ''average joe'' and lagging behind the ''prodigy'' types (those cute little Asian 8 year olds who play like Tommy E).

Baby #1.1
Baby #1.2
Baby #02
Baby #03
Baby #04
Baby #05

Larry's songs...

…Just because you've argued someone into silence doesn't mean you have convinced them…
Old 09-04-2009, 10:59 AM

You sound about like me after 1 year of playing. Keep at it.
Old 09-04-2009, 11:01 AM