The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Old 02-19-2020, 08:58 PM

Default Sorry I went......

Went over the weekend to a gathering for a girl I graduated HS with in 1973. She was gorgeous in high school and so was her 1 year younger sister who I dated the last 6 months of my senior year. She was adorable then.

Do the math. Haven’t seen her sister since. Strange how you still think of that person as still looking the same. Honestly, I have wondered about her for 40 some years. As gorgeous as she was, I knew regardless of the years gone by that she would still be stunning. I asked a buddy if xxx was coming. Yes that’s her right there!

I could barely recognize her. I was so saddened to see her. Smoking and drinking had taken a heavy toll. My buddy immediately knew what was going on in my mind. He looked me directly in the eyes and said, keep your memories and thank God for the great times you had.

Been bothering me since Saturday night. Just unloading here.
Old 02-19-2020, 09:06 PM
Charter Member

You've handily summed up why the only reunion I've attended was my 10 year high school gathering...
Old 02-19-2020, 09:42 PM

Sometimes I see myself in a photo (or the mirror) and wonder who that old man is...
Old 02-19-2020, 10:08 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riverwolf View Post
Sometimes I see myself in a photo (or the mirror) and wonder who that old man is...
I avoid mirrors in order to skirt that issue...
Old 02-19-2020, 10:09 PM
Charter Member

Some people age well and some people don't. I haven't figured out why that is...

- Glenn
Old 02-19-2020, 10:18 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glennwillow View Post
Some people age well and some people don't. I haven't figured out why that is...

- Glenn
True, but decades of cigarette and alcohol abuse certainly doesn’t help.
Old 02-19-2020, 10:23 PM
Charter Member

Location: alpha quadrant of the Milky Way galaxy, planet Earth, upstate NY