The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 07-02-2020, 08:26 AM

Default Playing and singing

I’ve just past two years of playing acoustic guitar. I have a difficult time playing and singing. If I sing my playing, especially my pick hand has trouble strumming or picking correctly. I can’t seem to keep the correct strumming pattern. I also don’t seem to be able to project my voice and often find myself singing the strumming pattern instead of the correct melody. How do you sing and project your voice to the best of your ability and do your best playing at the same time and why is this so difficult for me?
There is one exception and that is Neil Young’s Old Man which I started learning early in my journey and have reached a certain level of competence playing and singing at the same time so I know it can be done.
Is this common? Are there any exercises to help? Wondering what others experiences have been like in this regard.
Old 07-02-2020, 08:33 AM

Default Hmmmmmm.....

My pattern is to play the song while I "talk" it thru. Give it a try
Old 07-02-2020, 08:34 AM

Practice lots. For me, I loved an Allman Brothers song Dark-Eyed Cajun Woman and could sing it without playing. Then one day in front of friends I just gave it a shot and it was a good start. I'm not a great singer but I've learned to open my mouth and really enunciate each syllable. Tapping a foot helps too. I played easy blues progressions too and just made up tunes on the fly and found that easy too. Of course vocal lessons can do wonders, they say.
Old 07-02-2020, 08:38 AM

Practice, practice, practice.

Break things down in bits and pieces and play them slowly, so slow that you really know and understand in detail what you are doing.