The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 06-28-2020, 09:56 AM

Default Question about the Boss Katana 50

Hello!
I recently purchased an electric guitar and Boss Katana amplifier, and I wanted to ask a couple of questions. I’ve been reading about guitar pedals, and was wondering if anyone recommends pedals and why?
Also, I am going to update the settings in the amp with the Tone Central app, but that seems like a one and done type of thing to get your equalizer set the way you like it. Set it and leave it there.
I’m new to setting up the amp, and I notice there’s a considerable amount of ringing when I play. Is there a rule or is it just trial and error?

Thanks
Old 06-28-2020, 10:05 AM
Charter Member

The Katana 50, in addition to several "native" sounds, is infinitely customizable with different patches available. In addition, nearly every Boss pedal made is available in the effects area of the amp. So if you like Boss pedals, you can use the ones on-board (you do need the software to get at all of them). The one drag about the 50 vs the 100 watt version is the 50 doesn't have an effects loop, so if you want to run a looper, it's going to be in front of the amp and in front of all of the onboard effects. Which gets kind of ugly if you like to, say, play a clean tone for rhythm and a gained up tone for lead. I had one for a while and played it clean with a pedal board in front of it, with a looper as the last pedal on the board, so I could play very different rhythm and lead sounds. But if you're not concerned with using a looper with the amp, you have so many onboard effects that you don't really need pedals in front of the amp. Just dive into the software and experiment with the Boss effects it gives you access to, play around with different combinations and settings.