The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 08-11-2013, 03:30 PM

Default Martin d18 or d28 (same old argument i know)

Hi there!

I am new to the world of guitar forums but have been reading with great interest the threads discussing the merits of both the Martin D18 and the Martin D28.

I am 20 and play live a lot and am really trying to make the best music possible. A lot of the songs I write are in open C tunings or CGCGGC variations. I currently have a Taylor 110e and a very old Ovation which I both love, however with a bit of money from my 21st and some of my own money I am hoping to buy a new guitar in the next 6 months. I have had my eye on D18s and D28s for a while and the other day played both fairly extensively in a shop near me.

I have struggled to find answers to my questions in any of the existing threads around these two guitars, as I am trying to determine which guitar would be most ideal for playing in very low tunings, and which would give me the best live sound through a soundhole pick up. I haven't found a shop willing to allow me to detune a guitar as low as what i use at home, and that kind of limits how i base my opinion on a guitar, as i find that some guitars lend themselves to low tunings better than others. My Ovation for example sounds much better tuned low than my Taylor for example.

So could someone please offer me some advice on the differences I would find between the 18 and the 28 with regards to sound when tuned low, and how either would sound using a soundhole pick up such as a Seymour Duncan Woody etc.

Thank you for reading.
Harry
Old 08-11-2013, 03:41 PM

To my ear, the 18 is for strumming, the 28 for playing leads. They're so close in sound, though, both are just exquisite in every way.

So, if I was Tony Rice I would play the 28, but if I was Gordon Lightfoot I would play the 18.