The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 09-18-2019, 07:09 AM

Default Can I use this for a guitar?

My parents have to cut down a tree in their back yard, a Silver Leaf Maple, that I grew up climbing on. If I wanted to use this wood in a guitar, how would I go about storing it? I won't have the money to pay a pro to make it for a while.

Its definitely a maple. It probably has a diameter of about 3 feet going up the main trunk. I am guessing the tree is between 55-65 years old. I'm not sure how much the location has to do with anything, but its in the Northwest suburbs of Chicago.

Can you use maple for a guitar top? I would love to have as much of the guitar as I could be made from the tree, but even if it was just the back and sides, or the neck, I would be happy.
Old 09-18-2019, 07:14 AM

I'm no expert, but you'll probably have to have it cut and milled a certain way.

I'm sure there are some youtube videos of people out there doing this. I'd start there.
Old 09-18-2019, 07:51 AM

Yes, that’s certainly doable. The main thing right now is to be sure that the wood is handled properly when cut. This might include sealing the end grain of the cut logs to reduce checking, but, again, research this before the tree is cut.

Btw, I think you’ll find that your best results will come from using the maple, a fine back and side wood, for that purpose, and planning on using spruce or cedar for the top and top bracing.
Old 09-18-2019, 07:52 AM

You could use maple for the top if you absolutely had to, but it wouldn’t give you much tone or volume. Spruce will sound better.

whm
Old 09-18-2019, 07:55 AM

The silver maple is a soft maple and very fast-growing Maple. It's not usually the type used for guitars? It doesn't mean you couldn't use it but it won't be the same as if you're using a hard sugar maple for example. At least this is what I believe to be true...