The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 04-15-2022, 10:40 PM
Charter Member

Default Interface preamps?

I just read through the sticky post on this forum and looked at the audio interfaces in use with AGF members. I didn't see the AudioBox USB 96 on the list, although I did see PreSonus Studio One DAW listed.

As a beginner, I've used the AudioBox actively now for about a year and a half, and I like it. I use USB for my MIDI keyboard, so I don't need the MIDI in/out jacks on the AudioBox, but I'm using everything else.

Does anyone here give the lowly AudioBox any love? Are its preamps sufficient or lacking?
2019 Martin D-18, LR Baggs Element VTC
2021 Gibson 50s J-45 Original, LR Baggs Element VTC

Last edited by b1j; 04-17-2022 at 03:33 PM.
Old 04-17-2022, 02:21 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1j View Post
AudioBox USB 96
Are its preamps sufficient or lacking?
The answer is both Yes and No---- what the preamps actually are, is relatively inexpensive.
Like basically all entry level (price wise ) interface preamps.

Terms like "sufficient and lacking" are completely relative, and totally subjective, thus something only you can determine for yourself.

KevWind at Soundcloud

KevWind at YouYube
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...EZxkPKyieOTgRD

System :
Studio system Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2023.12 -Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen ,, Ventura 13.2.1

Mobile MBP M1 Pro , PT Ultimate 2023.12 Sonoma 14.4
Old 04-17-2022, 03:28 PM
Charter Member

In the time I've owned the AudioBox, I have not been successful at finding useful specs with which to compare preamps in interfaces. Everything is packed with marketing copy. Here's a smattering from a recent Sweetwater catalog:
– boutique sound quality
– high-quality preamps
– top-shelf microphone pre-amplifiers
– genuine SSL preamps
– new Vintage Mic Preamp mode
– premium XMAX preamps