The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 05-05-2019, 02:58 PM

Default learning CAGED system and why I feel angry

Today I started learning the CAGED system, and I'm catching on fast. Believe it or not I can play guitar to a fair standard. I've been at it long enough now to learn new songs pretty quickly, and I have a large repertoire.

So why do I feel angry? Because I watched a lesson on the CAGED system whereby I actually got taught something rather than got told it.

For years ( I'm 55 ) I thought I was stupid because no matter how much I watched lessons on the CAGED system I just could not get it into my head. It meant nothing to me. But then the penny dropped; Because I found a lesson quite by chance, In which the teacher actually taught how it works, rather than just told it.

I work in a job where we have students coming in to learn on the job, to meld their theory with their practice. Many of them are sent by the same 'teacher', and I can spot them outright. They are the ones who have been told stuff in college, and not actually taught anything. Their 'teacher' actually shakes her head in disbelief when they don't know something that they should, because 'She told them that'.

There is a world of difference between telling something, and actually teaching it. I am not a teacher, but even I know that.

So for forty years I have thought I was dumb, because I couldn't get a handle on the CAGED system. I have wasted forty years of learning opportunity because I didn't find a half decent teacher when I needed one.

So my advice to all new guitar students is to find a teacher who teaches, and not one that just tells you stuff. You are doing yourself a huge disservice if you don't.

Despite my late age, I'm going to continue to learn what I can. But I do feel a little annoyed that I missed out on so much given my rapidly advancing years.
Old 05-05-2019, 03:08 PM