The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 04-07-2019, 12:33 PM

Default Barre chord alternative solutions.

Hi all. I've been learning to play guitar for a little over two years now, self taught except for a player who once showed me pentatonic scales. My main problem is when using barre chords, or to be more specific, finding alternatives to barres. I can usually find some type of single note runs, mostly within a pentatonic box, to fill in where a barre would normally be placed, but of course this doesn't always work. My question is, do any of you have problems finding substitutes for barres, and what methods are utilized in so doing? Thanks, Ricci
Old 04-07-2019, 12:43 PM
Charter Member

Thumb wrap.
Old 04-07-2019, 12:59 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nymuso View Post
Thumb wrap.
Yeah, I try that once in awhile; sometimes can get it to work, usually not. My hands are real short, no monkey thumbs, LOL.
Old 04-07-2019, 01:45 PM

Well, avoiding things because they're tough is never a great idea, but yeah, thumb wrap, play the middle strings only (so an F chord becomes x3321) and if you want to mess with lead lines, yeah, every chord can correspond to a scale you can mess with...what's your knowledge of pentatonic like? Do you know major and minor?

http://www.youtube.com/user/jeffreymatz
Old 04-07-2019, 02:39 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr. beaumont View Post
Well, avoiding things because they're tough is never a great idea, but yeah, thumb wrap, play the middle strings only (so an F chord becomes x3321) and if you want to mess with lead lines, yeah, every chord can correspond to a scale you can mess with...what's your knowledge of pentatonic like? Do you know major and minor?