The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 08-15-2014, 10:30 PM

Default Advice on choosing first classical

I have been playing guitar for two years now; I have a steel string Lag solid cedar top, mahogany sides and back and acoustic, a Stratocaster and a 339 semi hollow body. I am in the market for a nylon string classical guitar, in the no more than $400 used range. Can those more experienced give me a few suggestions? I know a fair amount snout steel string acoustics, brands, tone woods, etc but very little about nylon stringed classicals. Thank you.
Old 08-15-2014, 11:03 PM

Add to your questions whether you want a Flamenco or Classical. I believe that Flamencos have a more percussive tone - shallower body? More informed players will have to chime in.
Old 08-16-2014, 02:10 AM

Flamencos lower action both at the saddle to soundboard and at the nut
Less depth at the sides
Usually cypress or sycamore for the sides ( no negra I know of in that price range ) spruce more common for soundboard
Classical usually rosewood/jacaranda back and sides .. Laminated in that price range
Higher action setup.. In that price range should be able to find a half decent cedar top
Ebony a preferred fingerboard for both
In that price range you may get lucky but more commonly rosewood
If your after a used classical or flamenco in that price range Ahlambra (Spain) or Francisco Navarro (Mexico) make good entry
level instruments
There are definitely other options but going by the guitars students bring in these are consistently good with a healthy resale
Old K yairi's can play and sound good
If you live in Australia the Katoh brand are winners .. A Chinese made instrument with a connection to Kenny Hill (USA)
They may be re labeled as something else in other parts of the world

In the case of Older guitars check for signs of sinking soundboard and stress marks in top at the bridge