The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 06-08-2018, 08:39 AM

Default Modern Art in Classical Guitar Solo WoW

I am new to the modern art of classical guitar solo.
Have you heard the following pieces, played in concerts ?
Why do they play and hit the guitar aggressively?
What do you think ?

Such guitar solo as follows

- Elogio de la Danza (1964) - (Leo Brouwer)
- Drang (1998) - (Jukka Tiensuu)
- Hautnah (2010) - (Heinz-Juhani Hofmann)
- Extase pour un Guitaristenop. 143 (1999) - Erik Bergman
Old 06-10-2018, 07:43 AM
Charter Member

Other than the Brouwer piece, I couldn't find any performances of the last three solo guitar works you mentioned. And since I'm not familiar with any of them, it's not possible to offer any comments.
Do you have any links to this music you can share?
Regarding the Brouwer:
There are some percussive elements in that piece, but not overly so, and when played well, they fit in seamlessly into the music imo, and with a purpose.
This fellow does a great job with it I think: (It's "modern" classical music though. Not everyone's cup of tea.)

The guitar has a lot of potential for use as a rhythmic, percussive instrument, as long as it's done well and is part of the music, which happens a lot in the hands of highly talented composers and players. Across many styles, not just classical.
But it's a fine line of course. Just banging on the thing with no musical purpose is a turn-off for sure, just as much as tapping on it rhythmically can enhance the musical experience.
Your ears will help you tell the difference!

Golf is pretty simple. It's just not that easy.
- Paul Azinger

"It ain’t what you don’t know that gets you into trouble. It’s what you know for sure that just ain’t so."
– Mark Twain

http://www.youtube.com/user/Gitfiddlemann
Old 06-10-2018, 11:01 AM