The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 06-22-2019, 01:55 PM

Default John Pearse Silks

On my continuing quest trying out different strings on my J35, after a recent recommendation on here, I just put on the JP Silk and Phosphor Bronze 610LM’s. Okay, these might be the ones!! PERFECT right out of the packet. No other way to say it. I am definitely in the very broken in camp for this particular guitar. I just don’t care for too much zing on it. The company description of their 80/20’s broken in is spot on. I hope these last!!
Old 06-22-2019, 02:21 PM

Perchman, I’ve never actually used the John Pearse phosphor bronze and silk strings, even though I’m an artist endorser for the brand. But my sister is a convert to them. She’s used silk and steel strings since the early 1960’s, but once I gave her a set of the John Pearse version she switched over to them.

She told me that they easily last her twice as long as regular silk and steel strings do.

Wade Hampton Miller
Old 06-22-2019, 04:56 PM

FWIW I recently tried a set of the JP silk and bronze on an anonymous (builder) OOO mahogany guitar I use for teaching. The strings transformed (in a very good way) that guitar’s voice. They lasted along time as well. As is said on all these such threads, YMMV. But I love the strings, with that guitar.
Old 06-22-2019, 05:04 PM

Has anyone compared the JP Silks with Thomasik-Infeld Plectrum's?
m
2019 Collings Baby 2he
Prior: Too many to list
Old 06-22-2019, 05:15 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by marc515 View Post
Has anyone compared the JP Silks with Thomasik-Infeld Plectrum's?
m
There are 2 John Pearse 'Silks' - they are Silk & Steel and Silk & Bronze.

Quite different in how they feel and sound.

The Silk & Steels are similar in feel with Plectrums, the Silk & Bronze are more like a warm sounding Phosphor Bronze string.