The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 11-20-2020, 03:51 PM

Default Baggs Voiceprint & using the iPhone Mic for IR creation

There have been some comments in other threads about using the iPhone's mic for IR creation, but since the microphone is such a big part of the equation in IR, I thought it deserved its own thread.

I am a previous Tonedexter owner and future Voiceprint DI owner (should arrive next week). I have also messed around with Cuki's IR software. I'm no expert, but I had some thoughts about the differences between how most previous IR's use microphones and how Baggs may be using the iPhone mic and wanted to get a discussion going about it. I may be totally wrong in my understanding and conjectures, but humor me and correct my mistakes so we can all learn.

While most IR's accept (in fact, welcome) the coloration of the microphone as part of the IR, Baggs may be trying to remove coloration by using the iPhone mic as a measurement tool rather than a "sound capture device." An analogy may be the difference between using a KM184 and an RTA mic. Each are used for different purposes, and processed differently. For example, when you want to "capture" the sound of a room in a recording, you may choose specific mics with specific polar patterns placed in specific locations (think of capturing the "room sound" when recording drums). If you want to "measure" the response of the room, you would use an RTA measurement mic, a frequency sweep, and some software.

Some people have questioned the ability of the iPhone mic to adequately "capture" the sound of the guitar. If the goal was to capture the sound of the guitar, then there are much better mics out there. But if Baggs was looking to "measure" the sound of the guitar, using the iPhone mic makes a lot of sense because its characteristics can be measured and accounted for when creating a Voiceprint.