The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 02-24-2011, 01:10 PM
happiness

Question First CD

My guitar teacher suggested I should think about recording a CD. I'd like to - but I'm not sure if I'm ready.

So, what I'd like to ask you is, based on the information I can give you about my situation, am I ready? If not, how far off am I and what would I need to do to get to the right level - would it be realistic to aim to get to that stage by the end of August, for example? I'd quite like to set that for myself as a goal, if it would be realistic.

I have around 12 songs that I've either written or co-written that I could put on the CD, and they're a reasonably varied mixture.

I have a reasonable degree of confidence now when it comes to getting up and performing at the folk club; I don't have the world's greatest natural singing voice, but I'm taking lessons and it's getting stronger all the time (I started learning to sing abour 3 and a half years ago); my guitar playing is at a level where I'm reasonably happy that I can accompany myself, but I don't know if it's good enough to record on a CD. I also play mandolin, so could add some backing with that.

However, I haven't learned how to do multi-tracking on my own basic recordings yet, so I haven't worked out arrangements for my songs other than just me and my guitar.

I could probably get a little help from a friend (who co-wrote two of the songs) on backing vocals, harmonies, and maybe adding an extra instrument or two.

I don't really know very much at all about what's involved in recording a CD or how much it would cost - although there is someone I know locally who I could ask, I'm just not sure if it's a silly question at the stage I'm at, because I don't really know where to start!

I'll welcome any advice!

Fliss
Old 02-24-2011, 01:18 PM

Do you have any recording equipment? You can do remarkable things at home now.