The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 01-14-2023, 12:52 AM

Default Upright Bass

I play a lot of stringed instruments, and have for many years. Quite a while back (~40 years) I regularly played electric bass guitar. Now I've decided to rent a 3/4 bass for a few months to give it a try. Some of my current skills transfer (good sense of pitch and rhythm, able to read music, able to work the bow, etc.) so I'm maybe not a complete novice but I am a beginner on it. I mainly am playing bluegrass/newgrass/Americana these days.

I know there are dedicated bass fora out there, but I was wondering if there are other upright bass players here on the AGF that could offer suggestions for resources and ponters? Thanks.
Old 01-14-2023, 06:30 AM
Charter Member

If you go over to the double bass side of Talkbass, the line will be "get a teacher". Which isn't bad advice, but there are some resources that will help with or without.
There are some good and helpful video lessons on Discover Double Bass on YouTube, and even just being able to closely observe the left and right hand approaches on something like that will help. And for books, I find Rufus Reid's Evolving Bassist useful, though it's quite jazz focused. The benchmark classical method book is Simandl, which is the foundation for most players left hand technique in classical and jazz today, but quite dry to work through.
It used to be that most bluegrass and roots bassists didn't use much of the standard technique, though that's changed more recently with the whole newgrass thing, and you can be a more versatile and adventurous player if you have a solid basis to work from.
Also double bass, electric bass, cittern, mandolin...
Old 01-14-2023, 07:39 AM

Default Upright Bass