The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 01-24-2022, 03:59 PM

Default Any Small time Luthier out there?

Hey guitar junkies—New member here. I’m Just a small individual luthier. Not a profession for me. I’ve Repaired/restored Vintage instruments since 1983’. Let’s Hear from a few small time Luthiers out there!!!! I Crafted a handful of personal Flat-tops over the Years since late 1980’s. I’m old school with tooling. Even cut the Abalone from the raw shell. It Takes me untold hours to build One but I enjoy. This is the Wovoka’ Guitar. Named after the Paiute Indian Holy-Man from Mason’ Valley NV. It Sports 50 year old seasoned Honduran Mahogany B/S and 25 year old Seasoned Adirondack top. Rock hard ancient jet Black Ebony FB/Bridge. Rosewood Bindings. Traditional Set Neck. It Took me 6 months to build this one. Finished it in 2018. It’s my slight take of a 30s Gibson Nick Lucas’. 5” Deep at Butt. 15” wide at lower Bout. Keep on picking!!

Last edited by Sage Runner; 01-25-2022 at 11:56 PM. Reason: Adding pics
Old 01-25-2022, 04:55 PM

Hi Idaho,
You should check out the OLF (Official Luthier's Forum) -- wide range of folks from full-time builders to novices working on their very first guitar. It's also a nice way to find other builders that might be in your area.

Nice work, BTW !!! I'm a big fan of Mahogany back/sides. Most of my customers opt for the Rosewood or Rosewood-esque tonewoods but I personally really enjoy Mahogany. One of my favorite guitars recently was an Engelmann/Cuban Mahogany guitar.
Old 01-25-2022, 05:23 PM