The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 01-23-2022, 11:44 AM
Charter Member

Default Nylon-string guitar for beginner

I've been asked by one of my wife's friends to recommend a nylon-string guitar for her. She is a complete beginner. She doesn't want to spend a lot of money, and I wasn't able to get any price range information from her. I am thinking about a Yamaha, maybe a C40. What is the experience of others here? What alternatives might there be in the same price range (I'm seeing around $130 used on Reverb)?

Thanks in advance.
Old 01-23-2022, 12:00 PM
Charter Member

Simon Powis runs an on-line Academy for Classical Guitar. I think he's based in NYC.
He's often asked this question, i.e. which guitar would he recommend for someone just starting out?
He has no affiliation to any of these guitar makers, but he recommends the following two:
- Yamaha C40
- Cordoba C5

He feels that these offer the best value for a beginner, with the Yamaha being the best bang for the buck.
So, you're on the right track!
Personally, I would also recommend the Yamaha. They make quality guitars for the money imo.

Golf is pretty simple. It's just not that easy.
- Paul Azinger

"It ain’t what you don’t know that gets you into trouble. It’s what you know for sure that just ain’t so."
– Mark Twain

http://www.youtube.com/user/Gitfiddlemann
Old 01-23-2022, 12:13 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndreF View Post
Simon Powis runs an on-line Academy for Classical Guitar. I think he's based in NYC.
He's often asked this question, i.e. which guitar would he recommend for someone just starting out?
He has no affiliation to any of these guitar makers, but he recommends the following two:
- Yamaha C40
- Cordoba C5

He feels that these offer the best value for a beginner, with the Yamaha being the best bang for the buck.
So, you're on the right track!