The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 04-23-2018, 07:53 PM

Default Going from 11/16” to 1 3/4” nut - hard to adjust?

Has anyone went from a 11/16 nut to a 3/4 one and was it a struggle to get used to it at first. I have been playing a 11/16 for several months now and am very used to it. I tried a 3/4 guitar tonite and it felt a bit awkward. I think I could get used to it but was wondering if I should stick to what I’m used to? Is it easy to make that switch? I have what I would call average size hands and fingers. I wear a size Large men’s glove, so it’s not like I have short or small fingers. I also don’t do much fingerpicking at the moment but would like to develop that skill.
Old 04-23-2018, 08:00 PM
Charter Member

I just did that...changed after 40 years of playing 1 &11/16 to 1 & 3/4...It took me about 20 minutes and then it seemed as if it was made for my hands & playing style.
So what is exactly the difference? Well, partially I would assume it depends upon your hand size. If you had extra small hands..then maybe the 1 11/16 might be better. If you have normal to large hands..then there are some advantages to that 1 & 3/4. You will find it easier to fingerpick. Quick heavy strumming changes might be a tad easier on the 1 & 11/16
But here is the thing...I now own a guitar with 11/16 and 3/4 and I are not having problems switching back and forth. the 3/4 is just a tad better for fingering...if you have normal size hands like me...
Old 04-23-2018, 08:03 PM

I often play both widths same day.

Naples, FL

1972 Martin D18 (Kimsified, so there!)
Alvarez Yairi PYM70
Yamaha LS-TA with sunburst finish
Republic parlor resonator
Too many ukeleles
Old 04-23-2018, 08:04 PM
Charter Member

Location: alpha quadrant of the Milky Way galaxy, planet Earth, upstate NY

It also depends on the shape of the neck.