The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Old 03-01-2021, 07:28 AM

Default Battery/Electric Lawn mowers

We have a second home at the Jersey shore. It has a very small front and rear yard. Because we’re not there all the time I pay a landscaping company to cut the yard and do the trimming. In the Spring they come on average about every 5 days and once a week during the Summer. I haven’t counted it up but, from Spring to Fall, it’s probably 40 -45 cuts. I’ve been there when they do it....takes two guys less than 10 minutes.

As I get ready to wind into retirement I’m considering letting these guys go and taking it on myself. I actually like to cut grass; I still walk behind my mower at home.

Looking at options I’ve been considering an electric, battery based mower. I have no experience with them at all. My rationale is less storage space, lighter weight, easier maneuverability, no gas can in the garage.

Anyone here have experience with them? What are the pluses and minuses? Any particular brand I should avoid or consider? Again, small yard...

Thanks!
Old 03-01-2021, 07:51 AM
Charter Member

I had a corded electric mower "back in the day". Worked fine but I cut the cord countless times - so battery would be great.

I have a tiny front yard (and huge back yard) and often thought Id like one of those old fashion reel mowers - they cut grass better and its super quick.

Modern ones are apparently very high quality, they are ultra inexpensive and a good form of exercise and for a ten minute job they need no fuel and no charging

Taylor GC7, GA3-12, SB2-C, SB2-Cp...... Ibanez AVC-11MHx , AC-240
Old 03-01-2021, 08:10 AM
Charter Member

I have two. A 20+ year old Black & Decker CMM 1200, and a small-size Sun Joe (I forgot to write down the model number; I think it's the 14" version).