The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 11-28-2018, 02:20 PM
Charter Member

Default Overwhelmed by purchase of first amp.

I’ve been playing acoustic exclusively for a few years but would like to get an electric. I’m pretty set on a American made Fender Jazzmaster. But can’t decide on an amp. I’m assuming my tastes will change as time goes on so I don’t expect to have a forever solution . I will mostly play at home but might occasionally play with a few friends including a drummer.

I’ve read as much as I can but am getting nowhere.

I’m looking at og 65’ Princeton , also the reissue version, headstrong lil King, or ,,,,?
I like the price of the used re issue but so many say they are junk I don’t know if I’ll know the difference starting out but based on my acoustic experience I tend to only buy higher end quality etc.
thanks for any help
Old 11-28-2018, 02:42 PM

Maybe a good, less expensive modeling amp to start. It will introduce you to the various amp tones and help you decide what sound(s) move you the most. That's how I started.
Old 11-28-2018, 02:48 PM

A Princeton is a great amp, not a bad place to start. I'd look for a Silverface model. Maybe go up to a Deluxe reverb if you plan on playing with a drummer who hits harder...

What kind of music do you play? What guitar players have tones you admire?

http://www.youtube.com/user/jeffreymatz
Old 11-28-2018, 02:48 PM

If you know the guitar you want, buy it first then audition amps. Amps are a huge part of the sound chain and some styles and guitars "like" some amps while others do not. It depends on what kind of tones you want too.

It's hard to go wrong with a Princeton or Deluxe Reverb for most applications.

Ibanez, Recording King, Gretsch, Martin
G&L, Squier, Orange (x 2),
Bugera, JBL, Soundcraft

Our duo website - UPDATED 7/26/19
Old 11-28-2018, 03:00 PM