The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 10-14-2019, 01:14 PM

Default Got my first real acoustic

Recently I've accidentally started an acoustic duo. It seems to have taken off. Last time I played an acoustic was about 20-25 years ago strumming in church. I've dug out the old Ovation I used back then. It's done the job okay but it sounds kinda boxy.

On a trip, last weekend, my girlfriend and I stopped at a mom and pop music store in Arkansas. I love to stop at the mom and pops when I see them. I played several guitars trying to get a feel for what I did and did not like in an acoustic.

This week she surprised me with a Taylor 714ce LTD Sinker Redwood that I took a liking to. Awesome guitar! Sounds nice and is gorgeous! I can't really say how well it plays because I'm still learning how to play acoustic. But it sure plays fun!

I'm not sure exactly what questions to ask but now that I've gotten a guitar nicer than I would ever buy for myself I want to treat it right and take care of it. I don't know that much about acoustics but I did get a humidifier for it. Based on my schedule it'll get gigged once or twice a week with no down weeks in site for several months. Mostly indoor but an occasional outdoor show. I play pretty hard and do a lot of string bending.

I usually wipe the guitar neck and body at the end of the night to remove sweat and then use some string cleaner to extend how many shows I can do between string changes.

Not sure what else I should do to protect it or what kind of polishes to stay away from.

Been doing music for over 30 years but I'm a noob to this part of it!

Any and all advice is welcome! Thanks!
Old 10-14-2019, 01:20 PM