The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 12-21-2022, 07:31 AM
Charter Member

Default Cutting your chops in a church band

I would say I'm an advanced beginner and have an opportunity to join our church band. I feel this would be a challenge and a good opportunity to improve by playing with others.

Anyone else earned their stripes by starting in a church band and what was the experience like?

Thanks!
Old 12-21-2022, 08:15 AM

Not quite the same as where you're heading but I'd like to share. I've been playing for many years, played 1,000s of shows/gigs, etc.

I think no matter what path you take; this will probably be one of the things you will never regret doing.

First thing to keep in mind. It's not about performing, it's about the ministry. The goal is to bring the music to the congregation during the service.

It's really not about "us" as performers.

In my situation, (which is a typical roman catholic parish) it wasn't about joining the church band. It was about being an accompanist to the Music director who was directing a choir, and had about 4 or 5 cantors.

So it was just Craig (director) and me playing instruments.

The choir got nixed during covid, so after that it was just Craig, me and the cantors.

I loved doing this work with these people however. They have all become very good friends of ours (me, my wife)

One thing it did for sure was made me read better. The music in a roman catholic mass is quite structured, need to play what is written most of the time.

So that was a big + for me, I always wanted to get better at sight reading but was too lazy and undisciplined to make it happen. This changed all that.

As I've been playing since I was a kid, at this point... my chops are my chops.. so not a lot to say there,