The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > FOR SALE! > AGF Classifieds - Guitars

Old 06-08-2023, 05:59 PM

Talking 1936 Gibson L-75 Round Hole Archtop Mahogany/Spruce $old

Vintage 1936 Gibson Round Hole Archtop Acoustic Guitar

A extremely rare model, this guitar is in excellent and seemingly all original condition and includes the original case.

No Cracks or repairs. Fair amount of honest playwear and some buckle rash on the back. Fretboard, frets and neck are very clean with virtually no wear.

Please refer to the pictures for final determination on originality as I am not an expert but bridge, pickguard, tuners and tailpiece all seem to match and be consistent with photos of originals. Missing end pin.

Handcarved bookmatched solid spruce top; carved, arched mahogany back and sides, solid mahogany neck, back and sides, bound Brazilian rosewood fingerboard.

16 in. (40.6 cm.) wide at lower bout, and 3 1/4 in. (8.3 cm.) in depth at side, taken at the end block. Scale length is 24 3/4 in. (629 mm.). Width of nut is 1 11/16 in. (43 mm.).

Action at the 12th fret is approx 8/64ths. I expect that this will need a neck set at some point in the future but it is nicely playable as is. I have factored this into my pricing.

Here is a demo of the same make/model/year that is a great representation although not this exact guitar.

Many older F hole archtops can seem underwhelming to the player who is used to the power and projection of a flat top guitar. This instrument is kind of a hybrid between and archtop and flat top and is really satisfying to play. Tons of that woody Gibson honk. This thing oozes character that you won't find in any other guitar.

Here is some of the history of this model taken from online: