The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 10-01-2018, 07:33 PM

Default McCartney doesn't read music

I saw an interesting interview with Paul McCartney on 60 Minutes yesterday. He admits that he nor any of the others Beatles could read music. "I don't see music as dots on a page. It's something in my head that goes on" he stated. He doesn't know theory.

This does and doesn't surprise me in a way. There are probably a lot of greats out there that don't read either but the songs flow out from with in and have the gift to be able to express it. But who would have thought.
Alvarez AF60SHB
Seagull Concert Hall Mahogany
Harmony H1215. 1953
An 80 year old Kay (approx)
Epiphone ES-339
Epiphone Les Paul 50's Standard
3 home built Strat's
Old 10-01-2018, 08:08 PM

I believe this is very common among self-taught popular music musicians, particularly artists who compose original songs. Its a bit harder to be a gigging musician dependent on fill-in or studio work if you can't read charts, tab or notation.
Old 10-02-2018, 06:03 AM

I think I responded to a similar post recently. I bet if you ask him if he knows what every note on the fret board is he will say yes and if you ask him if he knows the circle of 5ths he will likely say yes to that too. I dont know how you could right a decent song with that knowledge. Probing further i bet he will cop to knowing the major, major & minor pentatonic blues scales and their CAGED shapes or at the very least knowing to solo over chord shapes. If you know things you can pretty much do a lot in popular music. I bet he even knows the Nashville numbering system.

Interviewers keep asking the wrong questions and it does a great disservice to anyone who looks up to folks like Sir Paul looking to learn a thing, hearing his answer and thinking they dont need to have any knowledge either.