The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 08-02-2018, 09:58 PM

Default Use of Chord Melody

I was wondering, is Chord Melody very popular or usefull in guitar playing? Classical or otherwise?

Almanza 401 Mate
Classical

Ventura 12 string V17, now
a 6 string Lap Guitar.

Kala Baritone Ukulele

Melokia, Solid Acacia Tenor Ukulele

Yamaha Guitalele GL1

Yamaha CS40 Classical
Old 08-02-2018, 10:22 PM

Very popular in jazz but actually it is how you finger fingerstyle, so very important.
Old 08-02-2018, 11:23 PM
Charter Member

If one plays solo guitar, it is a highly desirable style. It is also a difficult style, but very rewarding.
Old 08-03-2018, 03:17 AM

Old 08-03-2018, 06:04 PM

I wouldn't bother playing guitar if not for chord melody. It's why I took up guitar.
Old 08-04-2018, 07:12 AM

I’ve been concentrating on chord-melody for the last several years.
Mostly jazz standards... I’m pretty much following Joe Pass’ advice on one of his videos... “Figure out the melody and find chords that sound nice”.

I don’t get all carried away with theory, but i am now getting to the point where I can finger bass notes working out of the chord-forms.

I do play fingerstyle... I find that to my ears, no matter how smoothly one strokes with a pick, you can hear the individual notes sound.. Whereas when playing fingerstyle, you can play all the notes at the same time... Or arpeggiate if you feel like it.
Old 08-04-2018, 08:11 AM
Charter Member

"Chord melody" = melody over chord. You're playing the melody on the guitar strings - not sung, not some
other instrument. Pretty simple. One uses it in solo classical guitar and fingerstyle though jazz has coopted
the term with its typical tighter integration of chord and melody via chord substitutions and chord extensions.

"Reality is that which when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away."

Woods hands pick by eye and ear