The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 03-27-2020, 04:53 PM

Default making mistakes

I've been playing consistently for about 3 years now. Prior to that, very sporadically, on and off. I like to learn pieces from various sites out there, mostly flatpicking stuff. For example, this is the current piece I am working on.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EnoyEoAz-KI&t=86s

I would say this is right at my level. Challenging enough but not to difficult... or may be this is a difficult level for me since I am posting about this.

Here is my problem. I learned everything, but I can't seem to get through the entire thing without making a mistake. I know that one kind of response I might get is, just play through the mistake. Sometime I can, but most times, the mistake throws me off and I go off rails. Benjo Ben here plays it pretty fast, but I'm playing it at about 110 bpm.

In case playing too fast is the issue, I tried playing slower, like at 90 bpm. But still mistakes... in fact slower doesn't really seem to make it better. Too slow, the mistakes get worse. Whenever I make a mistake, it's usually because my mind wonders or I have a brain fart, even in sections that are really easy.

But in the 1 out of 100 times I do actually get through it without making a mistake, it's because my mind was zoned in, and not really thinking about anything... kind of fine line between being in the zone (not thinking about anything) and mind wondering off.... does that even make sense?

I've been working in this piece day and night for about 3 weeks now, but just can't seem to get through it without making a silly mistake. This happens to be what I am working on now, but this is a typical problem I have with all the stuff I learn.

How do you guys overcome this issue? Just more practice? There must be some practice method that can help with this issue.
Old 03-27-2020, 05:04 PM