The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 08-22-2014, 01:48 PM

Default Gluing carbon fiber to wood with Titebond

Hi everyone,

In my next build I am going to use two carbon fiber neck reinforcement strips.
I have never used epoxy before. As the availability of expoxy is not very good over here, and I will probably don't need it for anything else, I prefer to use Titebond.
The StewMac website tells me it is indeed possible to use normal wood glue: http://www.stewmac.com/How-To/Online...Materials.html
But this does not match with the information I found in a lot of forum discussions I have seen about gluing carbon fiber to wood.
What is your experience?
Old 08-22-2014, 02:14 PM

I can only guess that since the CF is held captive by the neck and fingerboard wood, it may be OK. I don`t know if I would trust it, long term...
Old 08-22-2014, 02:31 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by LouieAtienza View Post
I can only guess that since the CF is held captive by the neck and fingerboard wood, it may be OK. I don`t know if I would trust it, long term...
Louie's got it right on. If your CF reinforcement strips are completely covered by the wood, Tightbond will keep it from rattling. I did a long scale 5 string bass with 1/8"x 3/8" bars, the bars were essentially inlaid into the outside laminations prior to gluing, all done with Tightbond.

I wouldn't trust Tightbond to hold CF to wood in a lamination, but for buried reinforcement it works OK.
et al
Old 08-22-2014, 05:09 PM

Used white glue to glue CF onto RC airplane spars and never had a failure.
Old 08-22-2014, 06:31 PM
Charter Member

Most all of the builders I know who use CF use epoxy to do the gluing. The glue has to stick to the CF or it doesn't perform it's service. I don't think Titebond would stick to CF.
Old 08-22-2014, 06:45 PM