The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 08-13-2020, 02:45 PM

Default Yamaha FG-180 Bridge Cracked

Just made a trade for this old FG-180, which comes with a cracked bridge.

Since I live out in the rural lands, without any real luthiers or guitar techs in the vicinity - it costs a lot to have a guitar worked on by a pro.

1) How serious is this issue? I've owned a fair number of acoustics and have never come across this.

2) Is this repair something I can attempt myself?

I'm not a pro by any means, but simple repairs and set ups I feel confident enough to tackle.

I look forward to hearing back from you folks! I've had two of these FG180's before and I really liked them both!

1966 Epiphone FT79N Texan
1970 Yamaha FG-180
1976 Guild D55
1986 Martin D16m
1996 Guild JF30-12
2009 Guild D40 Bluegrass Jubilee
2020 Epiphone FT79 Texan
and a couple others...
Old 08-13-2020, 05:13 PM
Charter Member

I think you will hear that it is do-able by non-experts and I in fact just repaired a more limited crack in a guitar I own. But your crack appears to be bigger, wider and deeper than what mine was.

Do you have feeler gages to try to determine if the crack goes all the way through the bridge and to the soundboard? How wide is the crack at it's widest point (using feeler gages again). And it looks in the picture that the crack extends well beyond each E string hole...but it could be that I am seeing a grain line.

For smaller cracks, one typical repair option is to get some 220 or 320 grit sandpaper and lightly sand the bridge to drop as much sawdust into the crack as you can. Then hit it with some water thin CA glue (Superglue from the hardware might work if it is the thin variety). You may have to do that a couple of times to get the crack filled in.