The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 09-02-2021, 07:18 AM
Charter Member

Default Mic Parts Kit(s)?

Does anyone have any experience with the SDC mics, kits or pre-assembled, at micparts.com? (The guy that runs that also sells LDC mics under the Roswell name, but no SDCs.)

They have an SDC kit (or pair kit) that presumably clone a Schoeps or a Neumann. (Links below.)

Curious about the actual mics themselves, though I'd opt for a kit just for something to do out on the garage workbench when the temps drop. I'm not worried about the technical part at all.

https://microphone-parts.com/product...microphone-kit

https://microphone-parts.com/product...ann-km84-style
Old 09-02-2021, 09:13 AM
Charter Member

I have no personal experience but I've noticed quite a few people singing their praises over the years.
2015 Circle Strings Parlor shedua/western red cedar
2009 Bamburg JSB Signature Baritone macassar ebony/carpathian spruce
2004 Taylor XXX-RS indian rosewood/sitka spruce
1988 Martin D-16 mahogany/sitka spruce

along with some electrics, zouks, dulcimers, and banjos.

YouTube
Old 09-02-2021, 09:35 AM
Charter Member

I have a friend that has built a few of their LDC's and SDC's. They sounded very nice, compared with my Gefell M300's and AKG 414. Not an unreasonable amount of self noise, or anything like that. The trickiest part is probably the assembly, but it sounds like you have that covered.
Old 09-03-2021, 07:19 AM
Charter Member

I haven't used or heard any of these mics. I did notice in their ad that Jim Williams did some R&D for them. You might want to ask Jim what he thinks of the circuit and capsule designs. Jim participates on GearSpace.