The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 09-03-2013, 08:47 PM

Default Industrial Dehumidifier

Hello All,

My name is Michael Grigg. I am a first time poster, so please cut me some slack if i placed this in the wrong location. I have been reading the past threads for awhile now so i guess you could call me a "forum Stalker" (according to Mary McKnight) lol. So I finally decided to stop stalking and introduce myself.

I live in Northwest Arkansas and I have been building for several years now. I have studied with an outfit in Atlanta, Charles Fox and Robbie O'Brien. With plans for a few other classes next year.

I met several of you at the most recent Healdsburg Festival. It was my first time attending and had a wonderful time. The Hospitality from all of you was astonishing! And the Instruments were Fantastic! Thank you for all of your time and advice that was given while I was there.

Because I live in Northwest Arkansas the Humidity is extremely high. This time of year it is around 70-80% outside. Last week I finally was able to get a new HVAC system installed after it had been on order for two months and my old one had been out of commission. I am currently averaging 60% humidity in my shop, which is way to high. I have a 100 sqft storage room with a small residential dehumidifier from Lowes that keeps that room at 45% but the unit runs pretty much nonstop. It would take several of these to bring my shop to an adequate level.

My shop is in my Daylight basement of my house. Both are sealed to the outside extremely well. Both areas are 1100 sqft each, with a total of 2200 sqft. MY new HVAC system controls both areas, of course i have filters that help keep the dust out of the living areas.