The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 03-12-2012, 09:31 AM

Default Northwood OM - newbie questions

Hi,

New to the forum and to acoustic guitars (somewhat).

I just acquired a Northwood OM in a trade. It has Brazilian Rosewood sides and back, and a bear claw sitka spruce top. I am really new to the world of Northwood acoustics and the Northwood site doesn't have much info....can anyone enlighten me?

Thanks!

BT

Last edited by bterry; 03-12-2012 at 09:45 AM.
Old 03-12-2012, 09:45 AM
Musical minimalist

what info are you looking for?

Old 03-12-2012, 09:56 AM

Hi,

Just looking for opinions on Northwood in general, also on my specific model. I could not find another like it exactly, does he build these custom order?
Old 03-12-2012, 10:39 AM

As I've said before in other threads, the best-sounding guitar I've ever owned OR played personally was a custom Northwood mini-jumbo that John McQuarrie built to my specs some years back. It featured old-growth Brazilian back and sides, bearclaw sitka top, a Florentine cutaway, bone saddle and 1 7/8" nut, flamed Koa binding, and FWI bridge pins (that I swapped in to replace the ebony originals).

It was loud. It was rich in overtones without mucking up the fundamentals. It sustained forever. It projected, and barked when I wanted it to bark. It was meticulously constructed -- John is absolutely fanatic about his fit and finish. It was a fingerstylist's dream, but it more than held its own at Steve Kaufman's flatpicking "kamp," especially in his hands (he gave it a try after commenting on how nice it looked).

John may not be the best-known luthier around, but IMHO he's definitely one of the best. A Northwood Brazilian OM, eh? I'm a little envious....

Old 03-12-2012, 11:25 AM
Musical minimalist