The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 03-14-2021, 11:53 AM
Charter Member

Default Octave Mandolin: Why Not?

Many years ago I tried to get serious about the mandolin but found it just too small and cramped to deal with. I love the instruments but it actually caused me pain to play the thing. So I am about to take the plunge with an Octave mandolin. I have not played one but it sure seems like the larger instrument and scale length will be much friendlier to my old & arthritic hands. Any thoughts or advise? I just want something to change things up and make my brain work.
Old 03-14-2021, 12:33 PM

Check the nut width. Many octaves have the same string spacing as the mandolin. Some do have wider nuts, depends on the maker.
Old 03-14-2021, 12:36 PM

I've been playing octave mandolin for about 12 years now. I really like the 21.5" scale of my Cricketfiddle F4.

I've found you can do a lot with an octave mandolin, pretty much anything I can do on a guitar I can do on my octave.
Old 03-14-2021, 08:25 PM
Charter Member

I bought a used Eastman MDO-305 today and I think I'll enjoy it a lot. It's a 21" scale with a 1 3/8" nut width. As usual, Eastman has provided a very nice instrument at a good price. Looking forward to stretching my brain and learning a new instrument!
Old 03-14-2021, 09:09 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by 29er View Post
Many years ago I tried to get serious about the mandolin but found it just too small and cramped to deal with. I love the instruments but it actually caused me pain to play the thing. So I am about to take the plunge with an Octave mandolin. I have not played one but it sure seems like the larger instrument and scale length will be much friendlier to my old & arthritic hands. Any thoughts or advise? I just want something to change things up and make my brain work.