The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 08-02-2022, 01:00 PM

Default First Electric Archtop for Jazz :) for a lefty.

Firstly I just wanna say a huge thank you to Steve and everyone thats been commenting on my other thread.

Had a super productive day today bouncing round a few stores I'm a lefty beginner ish player that's loved blues an now fell in love with Jazz My favourite players are Wes Montgomery could listen 24/7 Charlie Christian and I love anything Chet Baker on his trumpets wow! Also liking a bit of grant green to and on a journey learning about Jazz players. I usually play a lefty avri 56 strat with a 7.25" radius and a soft v that I prefer to my 1999 epi les paul slim neck as I'm really tall with a netball n figure skating figure advantage of having a Danish mum.

Tried quite a few righty guitars flipped upside down a few D'angelico premiers but didn't quite get on with them neck wise again wasn't quite my cup of tea glad I got to play one as in my head that's what I was thinking of initially.

Tried a Joe Pass again righty upside down loved it very Mellow but found the tone very even maybe a bit boxy if that's the right word very much may have been the store as the room was huge. The controls were also jabbing me constantly in the arm.

Next up was the Godin p90 warm tones for days loved the tone but the neck was constantly tripping me up like the last time I played it so decided she's not for me great guitar though.

Then I clocked a archtop peaking out a Broadway hmm had been reading about them being similarish to a L5 ish so decided to have a go having not tried a 17" flipped it upside down plugged in and fell in love probably helping by this point that I'd got used to doing the first bits of impressions n round midnight with the strings reversed.