The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 08-11-2020, 04:15 PM

Default 15 checks on an acoustic guitar

Hello Everyone, I'm a luthier who normally posts in the custom shop section. I wrote an informational article detailing 15 components related to musicality, playability and quality of an acoustic guitar. I aimed this as a guide to explain to someone looking to buy a guitar what to look for. There's a lot of text, too much for this post. So here is the list below and you can check out more here: acoustic guitar buying guide intermediate

The list that I go through is:

Top quality , back and sides quality, tuning ease, bridge pin ease, fretboard buzz, fretboard dead spots, neck shape preference, action preference, measuring stiffness of the top and back, mass consideration, evenness of finish, craftsmanship details, intonation quality, pickup quality.

My list is by no means exhaustive and there are many things I missed or could explain in more depth or with more clarity.
Old 08-11-2020, 04:25 PM

Thank you for this, Im sure it will assist our community
Old 08-11-2020, 04:51 PM
Charter Member

PG, thanks for the info. Old fools like me need all the help they can get when buying guitars.

john
Old 08-11-2020, 05:05 PM

Thank you for the warm response. haha, the more information the better.
Old 08-11-2020, 05:48 PM
Charter Member