The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 10-21-2023, 08:32 AM

Default Tempo Preferences

I've been playing guitar for 60 years, mostly electric and never cared for fast tempo/shred playing, lacked soul and emotion for my likes.

For the last 7-8 years I've played nothing but acoustic and been working on mostly old traditional/mountain/bluegrassy tunes and single note melody playing. Partly or mostly because I'm just no scorching speed player and 72 year old fingers I wind up working these tunes up at much slower tempos. If the standard BPM's are at 120 etc let alone even faster, I'm far more comfortable in the 60-70 BTM range. I like playing with my fingers and cross picking melodies. Lots of those old tunes sound really good at a slower pace for my likes and playing abilities.
Old 10-21-2023, 09:33 AM
Charter Member

I have noticed that as I have gotten older (I am 75 now), I tend to play things a little more slowly. I notice this especially when I am doing a cover and I listen to the original recording and realize how fast the tempo is compared to what I have been playing. I have to work on myself to get the tempo up to the original. But I can still do match the recording tempo.

I don't think I have ever slowed anything down to half tempo, however. That's really slowing things down.

- Glenn
Old 10-21-2023, 09:53 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glennwillow View Post

I don't think I have ever slowed anything down to half tempo, however. That's really slowing things down.

- Glenn
I work often on bluegrass tunes and those are the ones I slow up to half tempo. Just recently I was working on the melody notes to Big Sandy River (one of many) and it is fast but sounds fine at slower tempo to me.

Last edited by Jaxon; 10-21-2023 at 10:03 AM.
Old 10-21-2023, 11:58 AM