The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 10-05-2023, 07:53 AM
Charter Member

Default Popular Hymns

I am new to the South. We had some of our new friends over. They saw the guitars and wanted to sing. I figured out Amazing Grace on the fly but then I was stumped. Don't know that music at all. What are some popular hymns that I should learn? This is not a question about religion. It is about being neighborly.
Martin: HD-35, M-36; Gibson: J-200 Rosewood Limited Edition; McIlroy: AD-30; Guild: Orpheum D 12-fret; Yamaha: NXT-1200R; Eastman: AR804CE (with floater), DM-1; HsianMo: Art Gallery SJ-200 (Euro Spruce with Sandalwood b/s (!); Journey Overhead OF660; Eastwood: MRG Studio Resonator; MRG Octave Mandolin; Gretsch: Country Gentleman '59 VSE; Gibson: CS ES-355; more electrics . . .
Old 10-05-2023, 08:00 AM
Charter Member

It is well with my soul
blessed assurance
great is thy faithfulness
how great thou art
tis so sweet to trust in jesus
I surrender all
Doxology
Be Thou my vision
I saw the light
I'll fly away
Old 10-05-2023, 08:20 AM
Guitar Gourmet

That's a good list from gr81dorn.

There are two streams of hymnody to learn from: the great Fundamentalist (or revivalist) hymns from the Wesleyan tradition and the Reformed hymns. Both are in the South but probably the Fundamentalist hymns are more known generally.

Here are some examples. The asterisks mark ones I've transcribed to fingerstyle.

Fundamentalist:
*How Great Thou Art
Amazing Grace
*Great is Thy Faithfulness
*My Faith Looks Up To Thee

Reformed:
*We Gather Together (For Thanksgiving)
*Oh God, Our Help in Ages Past
A Mighty Fortress Is Our God
For the Beauty of the Earth

Christmas:
*It Came Upon a Midnight Clear
*Silent Night
*Angels We Have Heard on High

Bob

THE MUSICIAN'S ROOM (my website)
Old 10-05-2023, 08:49 AM
Charter Member